Escolha uma Página

 

 

MARCO DINIZ

Photographer

 

The Painter, Paris, France, 1998

Lilith # 2, Belo Horizonte, 2009

le rouge et le noir, Belo Horizonte, 2009

Washing the Sacre-coeur, Paris, France 1998

BIOGRAPHY

Marco Diniz, is a photographer, native of Brazil, who has lived many years between France, Belgium, Great Britain, Brazil, and the United States. Marco graduated with a diploma in French Language and Civilization from the Sorbonne in Paris. He is active in both the artistic and academic domains as a writer, translator, French professor and cultural commentator.

His writings and translations have appeared in various Brazilian and American publications and his photographic work has been exposed to the public in several exhibitions both in Brazil (Cultural Center UFMG, Gallery Café com Letras, the Audiovisual Reference Centre, and many others) and in New York (Ward Nasse Gallery, Soho).

He was also featured in numerous newspaper articles. Marco has been living and working in Montréal since 2011. He is presently completing a Master’s Degree in the Department of Art History and Cinematographic Studies at the University of Montreal and continues his reflection on, and practice of, the photographic arts.

Exhibitions:

Poor Banished Children of Eve
Café com Letras Art Gallery – Belo Horizonte/2009

Un regard sur Paris
Diamond Mall – Belo Horizonte/2009

A Grande Passagem
Solar da Baronesa – Santa Luzia/2009

The Mirror of the Soul
Ward-Nasse Galery – Soho New York/2004

A Grande Passagem
Acesita Foundation – Timoteo/2000-2001

No Bonfim da Vida
CRAV-Audio Visual Reference Center – Bonfim Chapel Cemetery – Belo Horizonte/1999

A Morte Suave
Centro Cultural UFMG – Belo Horizonte/1999

Arraial da Boa Viagem de Curral del Rey
Diamond Mall-Casa do Centenário-Banco Itaú- Serraria Souza Pinto – Belo Horizonte/1997

Un regard sur Paris
Festival de Inverno Ouro Preto – Acaso 85/1997

Un regard sur Paris
Café com Letras – Belo Horizonte/1997

Un regard sur Paris
Texas Café – Belo Horizonte/1997

Un regard sur Paris
Alliance Française – Belo Horizonte/1997

APPROACH

During the 1990s, I started my photographic explorations inspired by the great photography Masters of the French Humanist tradition, Édouard Boubat (1923-1999) and Robert Doisneau (1912-1994), through whose vision I discovered the city of Paris. Following in the footsteps of these post-war photographers, my first experimentations with the medium consisted of trying to capture the unique soul of the City of Lights where I lived for eight years. The imagery in my early Parisian, and then my Brazilian, work is intimately linked to my experience of being an attentive observer of the visual and cultural particularities of the urban landscape, of its inhabitants, and of the history that is imbedded in it. During my random wanderings and encounters, I captured a multitude of fleeting, unusual, and anecdotic moments: scenes of daily life which, framed carefully and photographed on black and white film that I processed using traditional darkroom techniques, reveal a nostalgic and poetic character that I associate with the photo-chemical process itself, as the image is gradually revealed. 

 

In recent years, my work focused on two central themes: death and femininity. I see my photographic approach as an opportunity to confront and tame two great enigmas of our existence: the “otherness” of mortality and the “otherness” of sexual identity, which, from a psychoanalytical perspective, correspond to our deepest primordial fears. Building on my frequent and intimate wanderings in cemeteries (the Père-Lachaise in Paris; Bonfim, the local cemetery of Belo Horizonte in Brazil), I tried in my series “Le grand passage” (1998-1999) to capture the troubling beauty of these transitory places, these “other spaces” or, in the words of Michel Foucault “Heterotopias,” where the living and the dead co-exist. The hundreds of photographs of tombstones, inscriptions, commemorative portraits and decorated mausoleums resulting from my explorations express an emphatic relation to these places of memory and mourning where our deepest desires, fears, and latent fantasies restlessly roam.

The tension between Eros and Thanatos that emerges from this corpus expresses itself more directly in a recent project, which explores the representation of female martyrs famous in Western history. These photographs feature studio scenes, freely staged, of historical or mythical female figures (Lilith, Joan of Arc, Anne Boleyn) whose sexual power has been stylized and amplified to highlight the threat they embody to the male identity. This series, under the sign of “Fears of the Male,” deals also with questions of transvestitism, homosexuality and oppression linked to gender, particularly through figures present in Brazilian culture (Geni) and the allusions I made to Stendhal’s “Le rouge et le noir.” Continuing my explorations of the extrinsic and intrinsic relationship of man and the “other” sex, I am now beginning to research the feminine identity as lived in Montreal, where the specter of the tragedy of the École Polytechnique Massacre still haunts people’s minds. Through photography, I endeavor to understand how much my masculine gaze, indeed that of a foreigner, can interpret of this horrible experience inscribed within the collective unconscious.

 

Although I have recently incorporated into my work digital photography and color, I still remain very attached to black and white photography and the traditional darkroom methods that allow me to create images directly from a negative, without the need for retouching or other manipulations. I intend to continue my research by investigating new procedures in the darkroom while experimenting with the technical variables of processing images. I want in particular to develop a reflection on the physicality of the film negative itself, as opposed to virtual imagery in the digital domain, and its manipulation until possible destruction. I intend to push my vision through new exploratory paths in order to energize and renew my creative process, and to further my reflection on the various dimensions within the practices and processes of the photographic arts.

Contact Form

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Message

6483 Jalobert • Montreal, QC • Canada • Code Postal H1M 1L2 • Phone: 1-514-217-2917

MARCO DINIZ

fine photography

 


The Painter, Paris, France, 1998

Lilith # 2, Belo Horizonte, 2009

le rouge et le noir, Belo Horizonte, 2009

Washing the Sacre-coeur, Paris, France 1998

BIOGRAPHIE

Marco Diniz est un photographe autodidacte d’origine brésilienne qui a vécu de nombreuses années entre la France, la Belgique, l’Angleterre, le Brésil et les États-Unis. Détenteur d’un diplôme en Langue et Civilisation française de la Sorbonne à Paris, il est actif dans le domaine des arts et dans le monde académique en tant qu’auteur, traducteur, professeur de français et intervenant culturel. Ses écrits et ses traductions ont été publiés dans divers magazines brésiliens et américains.

Son travail photographique a été montré dans le cadre de plusieurs expositions individuelles organisées au Brésil (Centre culturel UFMG, Galerie Café et Lettres, CRAV, entre autres) et à New York (Ward Nasse Gallery, Soho), et il a été l’objet de nombreux articles de journaux. Depuis 2011, Marco Diniz vit et travaille à Montréal, où il poursuit des études de deuxième cycle au département d’histoire de l’art et d’études cinématographiques de l’Université de Montréal, parallèlement à sa pratique photographique.

Geni Crying - Belo Horizonte - Brazil - 2009
Christ on The Rain - Belo Horizonte - Brazil - 1997
The Book of Your Life - Belo Horizonte - Brazil - 1997
Sister on The War - Belo Horizonte - Brazil - 1997
Jeanne d'Arc #2 - Belo Horizonte - Brazil - 2009

Exhibitions:

Poor Banished Children of Eve
Café com Letras Art Gallery – Belo Horizonte/2009

Un regard sur Paris
Diamond Mall – Belo Horizonte/2009

A Grande Passagem
Solar da Baronesa – Santa Luzia/2009

The Mirror of the Soul
Ward-Nasse Galery – Soho New York/2004

A Grande Passagem
Acesita Foundation – Timoteo/2000-2001

No Bonfim da Vida
CRAV-Audio Visual Reference Center – Bonfim Chapel Cemetery – Belo Horizonte/1999

 

A Morte Suave
Centro Cultural UFMG – Belo Horizonte/1999

Arraial da Boa Viagem de Curral del Rey
Diamond Mall-Casa do Centenário-Banco Itaú- Serraria Souza Pinto – Belo Horizonte/1997

Un regard sur Paris
Festival de Inverno Ouro Preto – Acaso 85/1997

Un regard sur Paris
Café com Letras – Belo Horizonte/1997

Un regard sur Paris
Texas Café – Belo Horizonte/1997

Un regard sur Paris
Alliance Française – Belo Horizonte/1997

Black Tie Man - Paris - France - 1994
The Baroness - Paris - France - 1998
The Twin Ladies - Paris - France - 1998
The Angel over The Family - Paris - France - 1998
Tuileries - Paris - France - 1995
Dali - Paris - France - 1994
Beaubourg - Paris - France - 1993
Café de la Paix - Paris - France - 1994
Word Cup Paris - France - 1998
The Socialist - Paris - France - 1994
The Dalmatian Charmer - Paris - France - 1995
The Beggers and The Model - Paris - France - 1994
New York from the Queens - New York - NY - 2004
The Big Botle - New York - NY - 2004

DÉMARCHE

Au courant des années 1990, j’ai amorcé un travail photographique en noir et blanc, inspiré par les maîtres de la photographie humaniste française, tels qu’Édouard Boubat (1923-1999) et Robert Doisneau (1912-1994), à travers le regard desquels j’ai découvert la ville de Paris. M’inscrivant dans le sillage de ces photographes d’après-guerre, mes premières explorations du médium consistaient essentiellement à révéler l’âme singulière de cette ville que j’ai habitée pendant huit ans. Ma production parisienne, puis brésilienne, étaient donc intimement liées à mon expérience de promeneur et de regardeur attentif aux particularités visuelles et culturelles du paysage urbain, à l’humanité qui l’habite, ainsi qu’aux traces qu’il garde du passé. Au hasard de mes déambulations et de mes rencontres, j’ai capté une multitude de moments furtifs, insolites ou anecdotiques : des scènes quotidiennes qui, scrupuleusement cadrées pour être photographiées en noir et blanc et développées selon la technique traditionnelle, revêtent un caractère nostalgique ou poétique que j’associe au processus d’apparition des images dans la chambre noire.

 

Depuis quelques années, mes recherches se concentrent plus spécifiquement autour de deux thèmes centraux, soit la mort et le féminin. Je conçois ma démarche photographique comme un moyen d’affronter et d’apprivoiser ces deux grandes énigmes de l’existence que sont l’altérité du vivant et l’altérité sexuelle, ce qui, du point de vue de la psychanalyse, correspond également aux plus profondes peurs de l’homme. À partir d’une longue et intime fréquentation des cimetières (le Père-Lachaise à Paris; le cimetière local de Belo Horizonte), j’ai tenté, dans ma série « Le grand passage » (1998-1999), de saisir l’inquiétante beauté de ces lieux transitoires et limitrophes – « lieux autres » ou « hétérotopies », selon l’expression de Michel Foucault – où se côtoient les vivants et les morts. Les centaines de clichés de pierres tombales, d’inscriptions, de portraits commémoratifs et de mausolées décorés de statues qui résultent de ce travail expriment un rapport empathique à ces espaces de deuil et de mémoire où rôdent secrètement nos désirs, nos craintes et nos fantasmes latents.

La tension entre l’éros et le thanatos qui se dégage de ce corpus se retrouve plus directement au cœur de mon récent projet sur la représentation des femmes martyres de l’histoire occidentale. Mises en scènes en studio à partir d’une libre interprétation de sujets historiques ou mythiques, ces photographies présentent différents personnages féminins (Lilith, Jeanne D’Arc, Anne Boleyn) dont la puissance sexuelle a été accentuée et théâtralisée afin de souligner la menace qu’elles incarnent pour l’identité masculine. Cette série, placée sous le signe des « peurs du mâle », aborde également la question du travestissement, de l’homosexualité et de l’oppression liée au genre, notamment à travers des figures appartenant à la culture brésilienne (Geni) et l’allusion que j’ai faite au Rouge et le Noir. Dans la poursuite de ce travail interrogeant le rapport extrinsèque et intrinsèque de l’homme avec l’« autre » sexe, je m’intéresse présentement à la condition féminine telle qu’elle est vécue à Montréal, où les esprits sont toujours hantés par le spectre de la tuerie de polytechnique. Au moyen de la photographie, je cherche à comprendre ce qu’un œil masculin, qui plus est d’origine étrangère, peut traduire de cette réalité inscrite dans l’inconscient collectif.

 

Bien que j’aie intégré depuis quelques temps la couleur et les procédés alternatifs comme le numérique à ma pratique, je demeure encore très attaché au noir et blanc, ainsi qu’aux méthodes conventionnelles permettant de produire une image instantanée, sans retouche ni montage. Dans la suite de mes recherches, j’entends développer une réflexion sur les paramètres techniques et procéduraux de mon travail en effectuant une série d’expérimentations en chambre noire, notamment sur le statut matériel du négatif et sa possible destruction. Je souhaite ainsi m’engager sur de nouvelles pistes exploratoires afin de relancer mon processus de création et approfondir la dimension réflexive de mon regard.

Formulaire de contact

2 + 15 =

6483 Jalobert • Montreal, QC • Canada • Code Postal H1M 1L2 • Phone: 1-514-217-2917